Social Host Law Reminder


North Hempstead Supervisor Judi Bosworth and the Town Board are joining with Manhasset’s Community Coalition Against Substance Abuse (CASA) in reminding residents of Nassau County’s Social Host Law, which prohibits people from supplying alcohol to or allowing consumption of alcohol to persons under the age of 21.

“In this season of graduations, proms and parties, we are reminding parents that it is against the law and dangerous to allow underage drinking at your home or to supply anyone under the age of 21 with alcohol,” said Supervisor Bosworth.Port Washington News

A violation of Nassau County’s Social Host Law is a misdemeanor and is punishable by progressive fines and penalties:

·         First offense: $250 fine

·         Second offense: $500 fine

·         Third offense and future offenses: $1000 fine and/or up to a year in jail

“Underage drinking has so many severe short and long term consequences for our teens, including: injury or death from accidents, unintended, unwanted, or unprotected sexual activity, as well as increased risk of future substance abuse. Also, today’s science indicates how underage drinking interferes with normal adolescent brain development.  It is so important that adults understand this and not put our teens in harm’s way by serving alcohol to minors,” stated Cathy Samuels, Project Director, for Manhasset’s CASA.

 For more information on the social host law and the dangers of underage drinking please visit:

 To report underage drinking anonymously call 1-866-UNDER21 or 1-866-863-3721


Previous articleThe Dolphin Bookshop Calendar of Events
Next articleSummer Concert Series At North Hempstead Beach Park
Port Washington News has served the areas of Port Washington, Sands Point, Baxter Estates, Flower Hill, Port Washington North, Beacon Hill and Manorhaven since 1903, serving as a trusted source for local news and community events.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here