Passionate Writers Honored at Schreiber HS


Three juniors at Paul D. Schreiber High School in Port Washington have been named winners in the National Council of Teachers of English Achievement Awards in Writing. Congratulations to Samantha D’Alonzo, Maria Kogan and Rudy Malcom, who submitted themed writing samples that explored the conflict between nurturing passions and meeting obligations.

Pictured from left, Schreiber High School Principal Ira Pernick and Port Washington UFSD Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen Mooney congratulate Samantha D’Alonzo, Rudy Malcom and Maria Kogan, along with English Department Chairperson Eileen Mills. The students were named winners in the National Council of Teachers of English Achievement Awards in Writing. Photo courtesy of the Port Washington UFSD

The NCTE competition was established in 1957 to encourage high school students in their writing and to publicly recognize some of the best student writers in the nation. All entries were evaluated by national judges on content, purpose, audience, tone, word choice, organization, development and style.






Previous articleGuggenheim Students Say No to Tobacco
Next articleBID Places Hanging Baskets
Port Washington News has served the areas of Port Washington, Sands Point, Baxter Estates, Flower Hill, Port Washington North, Beacon Hill and Manorhaven since 1903, serving as a trusted source for local news and community events.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here