2018 Graduates Receive Pride In Port Awards

From left: 2018 Barbara Faticone Pride in Port (PIP) Scholarship recipient Joshua Wojtowicz Jr.’s mom Claudia, Pride in Port Co-Chair Fred Pollack, Wojtowicz Jr., Pride in Port Co-Chair Barbara Faticone and Pride in Port committee member Mariann Dalimonte

Last month’s Awards Ceremony held at Schreiber High School’s included Pride in Port awards and a scholarship. Recipients are chosen based on their high level of
“Pride in Port.”

The Barbara Faticone Pride in Port Scholarship is given to a senior who best demonstrates the same volunteer qualities of the Pride in Port committee’s beloved co-chair, Barbara Faticone. A lifelong resident of Port Washington, Faticone’s community involvement spans 50 years with dozens of organizations.

Based on his dedication to the community, Joshua Wojtowicz, Jr. was chosen as the recipient of the 2018 Scholarship. “It is impressive and heartwarming to learn how many things the students volunteer for while still in school,” Faticone said. “Joshua truly exemplifies what Pride in Port is all about. We’re very proud of him.”

Pride in Port Community Service Awards are given to seniors who make significant contributions to Pride in Port, such as the pep rally, parade, etc. The 2018 Community Service Award recipients are Adam Anasa, Sevastiano Aragote, Camilla Medrano, Nico Pollak, Jordan Ramos and Leonardo Saravia.

This year’s Pride in Port celebration will take place on Saturday, Sept. 29. The Pride in Port committee extends thanks and appreciation to these students for their exceptional dedication to our community and wishes them much good fortune throughout their lives.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here